top of page
Post: Blog2 Custom Feed

Story 02: Life Is Short. So Live To Your Best Ability

Updated: Sep 19, 2022


I walked into a shop, attracted to the green-ted dinosaur. When I looked at the sales price, I thought many times before deciding to own it.


As my eyes darted around, I saw many other items that were more practical to buy. There were aromatherapy oil, essential oil, room spray, and others sold at a higher price than the dinosaur.


“I have not gotten my salary yet. But here I am spending my money. How ridiculous this is…” I said.


“Life is short. Learn to enjoy what you can. You do not know how long you will live to feel these changes. Pampering yourself once in a while is nothing wrong…” said the salesperson.


Yes, I knew it. The salesperson was doing her job well to make sales, right?


Dear readers,


Life is Short. Pay attention to this. You and I will die one day. It doesn't have to be at our ripe age of 100. It can be anytime. So, let me say it. Again.


Life is short. Keep life simple. Enjoy what you can in moderation. Live to your best each day. - Nourellyssa

A Sufi guide Shaykh Abdel Kerim once advised and reminded the Osmanli Dergahi (Dervishes' Monastery) in New York.


“You live only 3-days. Yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Yesterday was gone. Tomorrow is not guaranteed. You only have today. So live in the present….” (as paraphrased)

Yes.


To live in the present means being in the present moment. You pay attention to what you are doing and try your best not to be distracted. You will give your best to what you are doing without being half-hearted. You will learn to choose where to channel your energy.


These are moments where what you do will help to heal you within. And remember to choose what you do as it affects the quality of your day.


Spend but remember not to splurge. Focus but remember not to be obsessed. Love but remember not to be possessive. - Nourellyssa

Life is short. You can always try to make the best of what you have to spend your day with great satisfaction.


Live up to it. You can.



Copyright © 2022, Umm Soffah Nourellyssa


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Story 01: Am I Going In The Right Direction?

Doubt not your path or what you are doing right now. One way or another, you will wish that you have tried it before. – Nourellyssa I remember what my mentor’s late grandpa shared. And I will relate i

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page